13 of 52 – It by Stephen King

It’s taken a long time, but I’ve finally finished reading It by Stephen King.

They were just kids when they stumbled upon the horror within their hometown. Now, as adults, none of them can withstand the force that has drawn them all back to Derry, Maine, to face the nightmare without end, and the evil without a name…

I really did love it! I remember attempting to read it when I was around 12 years old, and it was quite difficult so I never finished it. When you’re 12 years old you’re not really used to reading upwards of 1000 pages for one story!

I’m glad anyway that I waited until I was 21 to read it. A lot of the mature themes and scenes in it, things that made me feel uncomfortable even now.

I think it probably didn’t have to be as long as it was. There was a lot of seemingly superfluous information. Most of it tied up in the end but it just seemed like too much, I got bored at small intervals. That said, because of all the information you got a very clear sense of the world they lived in; life is complicated so Stephen King makes sure it stays that way in his writing, which is nice albeit annoying at times.

Despite being much older I was scared at parts. Especially on the night home alone I would get quite creeped out and get scared that I’ll start hearing voices in the drains!

This book slowed me down a lot, though I’m glad I read it.

Tags: ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Stephen King at his best & worst « The Potted Plot - March 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

