2 of 52 – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Okay. I know this is ridiculous, but I’ve never actually read the Harry Potter series. My 3rd grade teacher read the first one to us but it’s been 12 years since then. So this year I’m reading the series.

There’s not much to say about the first book, everyone has read or watched the first one at least. I really loved Rowling’s writing style, it’s obviously great and understandable for kids to read but I can appreciate it too. I’m glad that there were some differences between the books and films; it keeps everything fresh.

One thing I disliked… Harry seemed less likable in the books. He seemed slightly whiney and a bit rude. That said, he is only 11 at the time, kids will be kids. I guess I’ll see if he’s still less likable in the next books. Might grow out of it.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “2 of 52 – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone”

  1. Jeyna Grace says :

    I guess the characters are more real in the books…

  2. PerceivedOrder says :

    That’s what i loved most about Harry, he’s not perfect, he’s actually far from it, There are times when he’s been wrong and acted stubborn ( books 5 and 6), which makes him a proper Hero 🙂

Leave a Reply

