19 of 52 – 23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism

I’ve had a lot of essays and an exam at the end of the year so it’s been a bit too much to do lots of reading, but I’m going to try to get back into it. I still really want to finish 52 books. I have a few shorter, easier reads lined up so hopefully I’ll catch up.

But I finished the book 23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang, a Korean economist.

Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn’t make the rest of us richer.
If you’ve wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn’t ask what they didn’t tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
The book was pretty interesting. Some bits were tedious, I guess because I’m not so interested in certain parts. And there were bits that went over my head a little. But a lot of it contained things that I knew, but with evidence towards those things. This isn’t an anti-capitalist book. It’s just against what we call ‘free market capitalism’, and explains why. I’m quite burnt out by economics now though, so I need some fiction for a while.
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

